Life in the community

So you’re interested in joining me in my utopian community. Great! I’m sure you’re curious about how day to day life would be, so I’ll tell you what my vision is. Make sure to read the My Dream for the Future post first to understand this post.

Generally, everyone will wake up once the sun comes up so we can get to work early. The days will be spent planting new seeds, tilling the soil, watering plants, trimming plants, harvesting crops, hunting, gathering firewood, gathering water, and repairing any damage to houses in the community. I would like to get some farm animals at one point, so taking care of them and making sure their needs are met will be another major part of the work day. I won’t say that things will be easy, because at first they won’t be. But once we have everything established and set up, the community will thrive. I am looking for hard workers to join this community, who don’t need to be supervised and know how long to take a reasonable break for eating, drinking or resting. Once the daily work is done, you will be free to do whatever you wish. You can go explore the woods, play cards with your fellow community members, read, write, have intelligent conversations with other like minded people, go for a walk around the community and meet some new friends, play some games, sit by the fire and tell stories, have a drink outside or inside, paint your house a new color, there is no limit to what you may do, long as you honor the values the community is built on.

11 thoughts on “Life in the community

  1. I agree with most of the things you have said. the world is a evil place. People have come to just care about them selves and no one else. Everyone is trying to buy things that don’t really matter but they want to keep up with the jones. Satanic symbols being placed in capital buildings, Sexual material everywhere you look. I have been researching a lot of material on off grid living and how to survive comfortable off grid. I have a wife and 2 young children and i cant let them go outside and play because of all the evil. I was in the army for 6 years, and did 2 tours to Iraq. I served my country for evil humans or care about nothing. I went to college but had to drop out because it was so much money. I have finally got my school debt down to 2,900 dollars. I have been unemployed multiple times because places go out of business or they are losing their bonus and they have to cut jobs somewhere. I am luckily currently working as a facility man. I am trying to save money up, so I can get to a community where there is no care for nice cars and big houses, but just that you have a place to live, and good people around. People do need to work hard in the community but you cant say get up as soon as the sun hits, that is like having a job in the business world, they tell you when you can get rest, when you can get off and everything. Everyone needs to pull together and plant the gardens, and cut lumber, hunt, fish, and everything else. You cant say as soon as the sun comes up. People do need to help out their neighbors. I help people as much as I can because i know how it is to need something, but you cant get it. I would like to talk to you more because i see that you have done alot of research like i have, so hopefully you will reply back. My name is chris

    Like

    1. Chris,

      I agree with you, people won’t have to start work exactly when the sun comes up. In an ideal situation people would just do the work whenever they wanted, but at times people will have to help out and do more if the community if in trouble. Work itself isn’t such a bad thing, what is wrong is how society forces people to work jobs they hate because people have to earn money just to stay alive in this world. That’s why a simplistic and minimalist lifestyle is appealing to me because you don’t have to have a lot of money. It is true that there are some people who only care about themselves, but there are a lot of good people in this world as well. The media just only covers the bad things that people do, so that’s why I make an effort to look up positive stories because I know there is a lot of good left in humanity. I hope everything is going well in your life, thank you for helping other people, you yourself remind me that many good people still exist. Hope to hear back from you soon.

      Like

  2. Just letting you know that I am keeping you in mind as I continued to search for my off the grid community. I’m looking in areas like Hawaii, Olympic area near Seattle Washington, as well as Queen Charlotte, BC ” but that is a last resort”. Looking to find something where I will have little to no property tax and I can live off the land completely with no bills once everything is purchased outright. I really hope all is well with you, I also hope you will continue to visit this page and not disappear on me.
    Mike from New York

    Like

    1. Mike

      I’m still here. I think it is up to us to set up our own community. We need to find some more people who are interested in becoming a part of the community that I am trying to establish. Have you checked out any areas in New Hampshire, Maine, or Vermont that are very rural?

      Like

      1. WE ARE GOING OFF GRID AND FOUND AN OLD FARM ON HWY 19 HARTFORD ARKANSAS… IT WAS ABANDONED 40 YEARS AGO AND NEEDS WORK, BUT IT SEEMS TO HAVE HOPE… RIVER/SWIMMING HOLE ON PROPERTY, AND THE AREA IS BEAUTIFUL AND FULL OF TREES AND OPEN FARMLAND… THE RENT FOR THE FARM IS $200. A MONTH AND THERE ARE ELEC AND WATER LINES AT THE ROAD… WANT TO GO SOLAR AND WELL WATER ASAP, BUT IT WILL DO FOR NOW… WANT TO GET AWAY ASAP FROM SOCIETY AND GOVERNMENT INFLUENCES… NEED SPACE AND PEACE…
        KRISTIN DURST CRUZ… LOOK UP OUR FACEBOOK… WE HAVE MEGA SKILLS TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN… JUST LOOKING FOR LIKE MINDED HUMANS TO PARTNER UP WITH AND MAKE OUR LIL SPOT… I LIVED ON A COMMUNE IN TENNESSEE FOR 5 YEARS FROM 1993-1998 AND LEARNED MANY SKILLS TO LIVE OFF GRID AND LIVE OFF THE LAND AND MY FIANCE IS EXTREMELY HANDY AND A HARD WORKER… WE ARE SPIRITUAL, NOT RELIGIOUS… WE DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOL ANYMORE AND HAVE CLEAR HEADS… WE ARE IN TAMPA FL. NOW AND READY TO MOVE QUICKLY…
        KRISTIN 813-410-0782 WHO’S IN?!

        Like

      2. Hey I see you posted that comment a few months ago, wondering how things are going for you now. I am sure the skills that you learned and the experience you gained living on the commune will be very useful. It would definitely be a smart idea to get solar panels and well water to save money and to be self-sufficient as well. That area sounds like a beautiful place to live, let me know if any progress has been made towards obtaining the property.

        Like

    2. Hey Mike are you still out there? What have you found out there for properties? Hope all is going well in your life as well, I have not disappeared, a lot has happened in the last few years since I wrote these posts, but I have been thinking about this blog recently and I want to come up with a real plan because I have a vision of this community and it can happen if we get enough people interested. I am going to publish a new post soon.

      Like

  3. Hey Chris\Clarence

    Definitely still here, and definitely still planning to do this I been putting aside $1000 a month now for over two years, I’ve also been coming up with ideas for income if necessary.
    I also found some affordable dwellings if we decide to pursue raw land .
    http://www.nomadmicrohomes.com/
    I think for those who can afford it “purchase two” one for yourself and one for someone less fortunate In the group, I’m sure they will have much needed other skills..
    I figure 4 to 6 people would be adequate, but it can be done with just two.
    If you don’t mind moving to Hawaii
    http://www.zillow.com/savedhomes/for_sale/2100891329_zpid/1_pnd/priced_sort/64.282759,-74.838868,16.972741,-155.34668_rect/3_zm/2_p/1_rs/1_fr/?3col=true
    It’s ready made an extremely low property tax.

    Now that I know you back I will check the post more frequently
    Mike from New York

    Like

  4. One more thing, I don’t even mind being nomadic and going down to Fiji or the Bahamas and just live on several uninhabited islands for months at a time, the fishing is awesome.
    But keep in mind that Fiji has freehold land “once you buy it it’s yours no taxes at all.
    Traveling between islands we would use large fish kayaks so it can hold all of our gear
    Example
    http://www.yakangler.com/fishing-kayak-review/125-jackson-kayak-big-tuna
    And an example of portable dwellings
    http://lotusbelle.com/products/16ft-lotus-belle-outback-deluxe
    Perfect for tropical locations.
    Just examples, nothing is set in stone.

    Like

  5. I found some affordable places in Maine

    http://www.zillow.com/homes/for_sale/ME/2103026672_zpid/28_rid/priced_sort/47.934747,-68.692017,41.979911,-78.755493_rect/6_zm/5_p/?3col=true

    But I’m a little worried about the climate, I was basically looking for an area where we can grow all year around. Take a look at the links and let me know what you think
    I will bombard you with links and messages anymore today, I’ll just wait to hear from you.
    Take care

    Like

    1. Mike,

      I am glad to hear from you, I was afraid you may have already gone off grid and I would not hear back from you. Please feel free to post as many messages or links as you want, they may be useful to others as well as anyone who wants to join us. I agree, finding a location where we can grow year round is the most intelligent and economical choice to make. Forming a plan to build a community with some other like minded individuals was always my intention when I started this blog, but if we only have a few people to begin with we can still make a community out of a few . I wrote these posts because I wanted to live in a small community with others, being totally isolated in the wilderness is not my desire, being totally isolated with some other people is closer to my dream. Having some people around will help to lessen the feeling of being completely cut off from society. In this community, we will turn to each other for support and help during any difficult times. Doing it alone is suitable for some, but I don’t want to totally cut myself off from others. I have an immense amount of love for nature, but I still would rather experience this journey with others. I see there are many others who have come to read this blog, there are almost 1000 views at this point, but not many leave comments. Perhaps they are not interested in the idea, maybe the people who should be seeing this website have not viewed it yet. I will continue to try to reach out to others to see if they want to be a part of this community. I will never give up hope on this dream of mine, whether we have 2 people or 20 the dream lives on and one day this community will become reality. You have been communicating with me since I started this blog, I know one day we will no longer be posting online, but living this dream out, helping each other to survive in the wilderness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

